Take a virtual tour of Hambledon Cottage
Hambledon Cottage is a colonial Georgian cottage that was originally built for John Macarthur in 1824, as part of his Elizabeth Farm estate. Macarthur was famous for being a British army officer, as well as an entrepreneur, politician, architect, and pioneer of settlement in Australia. Originally, the cottage was built to provide additional accommodation for Macarthur’s Elizabeth Farm Estate extended family and friends when they came to visit. Throughout the years, it has hosted numerous historical figures.
The cottage has also provided housing for famous individuals such as; Major General Sir Edward Macarthur who was John’s eldest son and served as commander in chief of the British Forces in Australia from 1855 and Dr Matthew Anderson, who was surgeon on 4 convict ships before becoming Assistant Colonial Surgeon in 1824 and in charge of Parramatta Hospital and Penelope Lucas, retired governess to the Macarthur daughters.
Hambledon Cottage is now a house museum that is open to the public for those that may be interested in experiencing and absorbing the 19th-century lifestyle with the bonus of witnessing and educating themselves on the history of the house and all the people that once lived inside the cottage.
The cottage itself is built of rendered sandstone brick in a colonial Georgian style. The joinery throughout the cottage is made of Australian cedar. Some of the internal ceilings and walls are of lath and plaster whilst one bedroom still has its original ironbark flooring. The cottage itself contains authentic furniture from the 19th-century to provide a real sense of how living in this period looked, and this is expressed across all the different rooms.
The Museum and its grounds are managed by the Parramatta and District Historical Society which has been in existence since 1913. It is the oldest local history society in Australia.
Hambledon Cottage has operated as a tourist site and education facility for over 50 years to educate domestic and international tourists as well as school children about Australian history. As a result, its grounds and archaeology were granted a listing on the NSW State Heritage Register on 21 September 2012 by Hon. Robyn Parker MP, Minister for Heritage.
If you are interested in history, the Parramatta and District Historical Society run a monthly meeting with guest speakers. Visit https://www.parramattahistorical.org.au/UpgradedMeetings.htm for more information.
Contact us on (02) 9635 6924 or email email@example.com
Corner of Hassall Street and Gregory Place, Parramatta NSW 2150
Open Saturday to Sunday, 11:00am to 4:00pm
New online experience!
Discover the 360 degree virtual tour of the cottage and discover its history and treasures. Visit https://www.hambledoncottagemuseum.org.au to get started