February 26, 2021 19:02 - 21:02

What’s On at The Joan

Concertos, Quintets and World Premieres
26 Feb 2021 at 7.30 pm

Praised as Australia’s “chamber music all-stars” (Sydney Morning Herald) and “one of Australia’s most forward-thinking chamber groups” (Limelight Magazine), Omega Ensemble performs Chopin’s Romantic Piano Concerto No. 1 in a thrilling new presentation and a world premiere work by celebrated Australian composer Elena Kats-Chernin.

When performing his own piano concertos, the great showman Frédéric Chopin preferred dark and smoky salons to the grand concert halls of Paris. As a matter of practicality, Chopin arranged his own concertos for small ensembles, often performing with string quartets in the private apartments of friends and patrons.

In this tradition, Omega Ensemble’s 2021 Season opens with a program of stunning “quin-certos”, including Chopin’s first piano concerto performed by acclaimed pianist Clemens Leske in an intimate arrangement for piano quintet.
The program also features new works by two of Australia’s most celebrated composers, including a premiere performances of Gordon Kerry’s Clarinet Quintet by Clarinettist David Rowden, and the world premiere of Elena Kats-Chernin’s ‘Night and Now’, a new flute quintet based on her Flute Concerto (2015), originally written for flautist Sally Walker who will also premiere this new arrangement.

In support of those Australian performing artists who remain without financial support, 10% of your ticket to this concert will be donated to Freelance Artist Relief Australia.

Frédéric Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11 (for Piano Quintet)
Elena Kats-Chernin: Flute Quintet “Night and Now” (after Flute Concerto) [World Premiere]
Gordon Kerry: Clarinet Quintet
Cast & Creatives
David Rowden / Clarinet
Sally Walker / Flute
Clemens Leske / Piano
Alexandra Osborne / Violin
Anna Da Silva Chen, violin / Violin
Neil Thompson / Viola
Paul Stender / Cello

Joan Sutherland Performing Arts Centre
597 High Street, Penrith  |  (02) 4723 7600  |